• Priority: Medium
  • Status: Waiting on customer
  • Theme: Alysum
  • Assigned To: Fred
  • Private: No
  • Open Date: 31.10.20, 21:47
  • Opened by: Ebony Bragg

Ticket #19645 - Customization


we had someone make 2 customizations to the website a few months ago but they made the changes to the themeitself. We reached out to theme to see if they could make those changes to the child theme instead as we noticed when we try to update the template it removes the changes. They do not understand how to exit the child theme. We had the additional thumbnail images moved to the right of the main product photo, we also have a Buy Now button on our product pages that sits to the right of our Add To Cart button. How much would it cost from you all to have those 2 changes made in the child theme so that we can update the theme?

Thank you



Fred 01 Nov 2020, 20:49

Hi, Ebony Bragg.
Unfortunately, we have too much customers tickets and don't have time to provide customization service.
Here is the link to official documentation regarding the child theme https://devdocs.prestashop.com/1.7/themes/reference/template-inheritance/parent-child-feature/

Ebony Bragg 02 Nov 2020, 00:11

Hello, thank you for the reply. We were able to get the child theme setup. We tried manually updating the theme but it still shows an update is available. When we tried to update from the the Theme settings it gives this error: Error#3: Cannot reach an update files to download

Fred 02 Nov 2020, 09:52

you can ignore that. you already have the latest version. The problem here is in detection of the theme version because you are using child theme version 1.0.0

Ebony Bragg 03 Nov 2020, 06:22

Does the child theme have to be updated as well? After we updated the theme the Theme Settings module is loading a 500 Error and it will not load. We cleared the cache already.

Fred 03 Nov 2020, 09:44

where I can see the issue? for now all works fine for me

Ebony Bragg 03 Nov 2020, 18:36

This is what is loading on our end.


Fred 03 Nov 2020, 21:19

I don't have permissions to configure modules. Please enable Debug Mode at the performance page in your back office and see what kind of error will appear

Ebony Bragg 04 Nov 2020, 16:00

Hello, we changed the permissions and turned on and there are 2 errors when we click on Theme Settings

Fred 04 Nov 2020, 17:22

Something definitely went wrong.
Do you have a backup to restore working website?

Ebony Bragg 04 Nov 2020, 19:21


Fred 05 Nov 2020, 10:37

would be easier to restore a backup because I can't find what's wrong there

Ebony Bragg 07 Nov 2020, 02:58

We restored the backup and then upgraded the theme again and all of the links are now loading for Theme settings. However, several of the modules are not loading correctly and some of them are showing available upgrades but they will not install.

The Facebook module is enabled but not showing in the custom tab on the product page.
The header with the menu is not loading correctly on the top of the website.
The Size Chart popup that is on the right side of the product page, when you click on it the size chart does not come up.
The Also In This Collection is assigned to the bottom of product pages, but it is not showing up
We restored all of the css codes that we were using before upgrading but not all codes are applying
We restored the JSON backup, but not everything was updated. After reapplying the JSON and css codes we thought the template would go back to the way it was before upgrading but it has not.

We have also cleared all cached files.

Fred 07 Nov 2020, 19:12

1. Facebook module - try to reset the module
2. I don't have access to modules to check out what's wrong
3. Please make sure you are using Size Chart module v.2.0.x. If you have v.1.x uninstall it and install the new version from the module catalog. If you already have 2.x version, try to reset it

Ebony Bragg 07 Nov 2020, 19:35

We changed the permissions for the account, so you can now see the modules settings.
We reset the 2 modules, and they are still not working.
Size Chart is 2.0 and so is Facebook.
There are still 2 modules that won't update and the header is missing.

Fred 09 Nov 2020, 15:51

1. As I can see Facebook chat works fine
2. Size guide works fine now https://take.ms/8WZbAV. The problem was with the blockinstock module. I have renamed the folder to disable the module.
3. As for the header, go to header builder and add those widgets you need

Ebony Bragg 10 Nov 2020, 19:26

The Facebook chat is working, it's the Facebook comments on the product page in the tabs that is not showing up. We already reset that module.
Size Guide is not working as we need the Back In Stock module to show for out of stock products, we paid for customizations of that module to make sure it shows and does not misalign the product page, it was working with Size Guide before the update
We have included screenshots of the Header settings, they are already configured but it is not showing the configurations.
The Amp and Instagram modules will not update.
The search module does not popup the options to search.
These are all issues that started after the theme was updated

Your help is appreciated.

Fred 10 Nov 2020, 21:10

1. Facebook. There is an error generated by Back In Stock module. Please fix it first.

ReferenceError: Can't find variable: empty_fname

2. Please make sure you are using Size Guide module v.2.0, maybe try to reset it
3. Something wrong with Header builder, it's not working in your website and I have no access to check that out
4. To be able to use instagram in AMP you have to enable it for desktop version first.
5. search module issue will be solved after #3

Ebony Bragg 11 Nov 2020, 03:40

We have changed the access for the Header builder issue.

Fred 11 Nov 2020, 10:13

the header is fixed now

Ebony Bragg 25 Nov 2020, 21:18

Hello, is it possible to get the fix for the header issue so we can keep it. The header breaks every time we update the Theme. Also, when we updated the theme last the product pages are not functioning properly. With some products you click on the color and size option and the product changes to a different product all together. We attached a screen record of the debug errors showing that there is a problem with the page builder for the theme.


Hello, we have not received a reply to this ticket. The theme is causing several issues on the website. The AMP module is not working and the mobile site is loading a white page.

Fred 30 Nov 2020, 16:08

1. Product issue is fixed
2. Please make sure you are using AMP version 2.0. Go to Modules Catalog and just install it

Ebony Bragg 30 Nov 2020, 16:52

Thank you. The products are loading now but the checkout does not work at all. It loads a white page when you click on the cart and checkout

Fred 01 Dec 2020, 00:06

Checkout works fine for me https://take.ms/5mHEM

Ebony Bragg 01 Dec 2020, 02:19

Hello, we keep responding to the ticket but it doesn't stay. Its the AMP checkout that doesn't work. It's a white page.

Fred 01 Dec 2020, 10:28

But how to find checkout page? when I click on checkout button I see this https://take.ms/5mHEM

Ebony Bragg 01 Dec 2020, 13:09

If you load the AMP/mobile site on a mobile device and place an item in the cart the cart and checkout are not loading. Both links load a white page.

Ebony Bragg 01 Dec 2020, 16:37

We also still have the issue of the products switching on the product pages. When you select a different size, it is not changing the size it changes the product completely. https://www.luxealoure.com/jumpsuits/without-a-trace-romper if you select Large size for the product, it switches to a different product all together.

Fred 01 Dec 2020, 21:29

That's because you are using third party checkout module.
Any third party module is not compatible with AMP by default. We have "AMPified" all prestashop pages and our own modules for the theme but we are not able to "AMPify" every third party module.
Try to enable "Force Desktop checkout" option in the AMP settings

Fred 10 Dec 2020, 19:59

Can we discuss your review here?

Ebony Bragg 10 Dec 2020, 20:28

Hello, we have reached out a few times with this ticket. Our website loads so slow. We don't use a lot of 3rd party modules. The last few updates have caused so many issues. The product pages are not working correctly. When you click on an attribute (size and color) the page freezes and then loads a different product on the same page. The AMP module has been disabled and now the website will not load on mobile devices. We updated to 5.7.0 hoping it would resolves some of these issue but they are still there. When AMP is enabled the checkout does not load, it loads a white page. We have tried to force default checkout and our 3rd party checkout but neither option work. It's so unstable with the bugs we can not direct our traffic back to this url. We had customizations made to our 3rd party checkout and they found an issue with the pagebuilder:

"We have checked your concern by enabling the debug mode on your store and found that there was some issue due to the pagebuilder module which you are using on your store.
Please check the below video for your reference:

Please contact the pagebuilder module developer for this issue.

Currently, the debug mode is enabled on your store so that you can also verify the issue at your end."

Fred 10 Dec 2020, 20:51

Product page works correctly now
Debug mode is enabled to read error messages and I have found out the following:

Compile Error: Cannot declare class Stripe\Stripe, because the name is already in use

Do you use two different Stripe modules?

Ebony Bragg 10 Dec 2020, 21:44

We only have 1. There was an older that was no longer compatible after upgrading to with the 1 click upgrade module and it stated that it removed that copy of Stripe.

Fred 10 Dec 2020, 21:46

but it seems causes a conflict. Please make sire its completely removed from "modules" folder

Ebony Bragg 10 Dec 2020, 22:36

We removed the folder.

Ebony Bragg 10 Dec 2020, 22:41

We are getting this error on the amp site


Fred 10 Dec 2020, 22:52

I don't see the issue. I just reach the latest checkout step https://take.ms/18FR9

Ebony Bragg 10 Dec 2020, 23:09

That error message pops up on the AMP checkout if you tap the cart in the header. The checkout on the desktop site is no longer, it is now just spinning. It was working earlier today and we made no changes to it.


Fred 11 Dec 2020, 00:04

Please check out my phone screen record https://mega.nz/file/0V5AnKgI#v1EhU3MHtzm4BUwwUWMf8CuKthtm3XS0HvvKvScd9Sc

How to see the issue?

Ebony Bragg 11 Dec 2020, 00:26

It is popping up at random, but it was only when we tapped on the shopping cart icon in the header.

Fred 11 Dec 2020, 18:37

Please test it out now, seems works fine

Ebony Bragg 11 Dec 2020, 19:55

We just tried from 2 different browsers. Checkout is not loading past the shipping option. Were you able to look at the video link that was sent from Knowband that gives the error that the page builder is causing?

Fred 11 Dec 2020, 20:35

The issue shows in the video has been fixed yesterday.
As for the main issue with checkout page, I'm not sure that is related to our theme. I have found out the same error reported by other customers, for eg. https://www.prestashop.com/forums/topic/1031039-illegal-length-modifier-specified-f-in-snpprintf-call-in-smarty_template_compiledphp-line-178/

From that what I have read the most useful advice is about prestashop update. As I can see you are using version, please try to update to released recently version.

I kindly ask you to remove your one star review. We always tried to help you within the last half year and I suppose it's not fair from your side.

Ebony Bragg 11 Dec 2020, 23:58

We removed the review from theme forest. We also upgraded to of Prestashop and the product page issue came back. When you click on a size and color combo the product switches. On the AMP pages the checkout is loading one page but when you click the option(shipping for example) it is not continuing to load, you have to refresh, not sure if this a theme issue or not about the checkout. Our 3rd party checkout is now loading correctly.

Fred 11 Dec 2020, 23:59

Thank you very much!
I'll back to you tomorrow, today is too late, I have to sleep

Fred 12 Dec 2020, 13:13

1. I'm not able to reproduce the issue with product, when I change the size or color I always see the same product https://take.ms/UVf7O

How to see the issue?

2. As for checkout issue, I have found an answer in that thread

The error is caused by outdated Prestashop modules or third-party modules.
Module codes may not be useful for higher versions of PHP.

Could you please try to disable recently installed modules just for a test?